Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    Hey

    I've installed Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows 7 (32) but still i only get "No such file or directory" when trying to include qwt headers. Im using Qt 4.7.0. Maybe you'll be able to help me, already spent few hours looking for a clear, simple Qwt instalation guide for a newbie.

    Here's what i did step by step:
    - Unpacked qwt to C:/Qt/qt/Qwt-6.0.0-rc4/ (C:/Qt/ is my qt dir)
    - Changed qwtconfig.pri: win32 {
    QWT_INSTALL_PREFIX = C:/Qt/qt/Qwt-$$QWT_VERSION-rc4
    }
    - removed QWT_CONFIG += QwtDll from said qwtconfig.pri
    - started qt command line followed by changing dir to C:/Qt/qt/Qwt-6.0.0-rc
    - qmake qwt.pro
    - mingw32-make
    - mingw32-make install

    After that I created new project with included <qwt_plot.h>.
    Added following lines to my pro file:

    'LIBS += -lqwt \
    -lqwtd
    INCLUDEPATH += C:/Qt/qt/qwt-6.0.0/src
    INCLUDEPATH += C:/Qt/qt/qwt-6.0.0/include'

    The only result was "qwt_plot.h: No such file or directory". I'll be grateful for any advice on what am i doing wrong.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    i did something similar,
    but instead of mingw32-make
    try nmake...

    however, I got error 10077 not sure how to resolve it yet.
    You can give that a try

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    I prefer using dll version of qwt that why my answer will not be helpful.

    Latest versions of Qt support creating your own qmake features. After installing qwt your can only one following line in .pro file to use qwt without need to specify include and library paths:
    Qt Code:
    1. CONFIG += qwt
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    In my case installing procedure next:
    1. unpacked qwt source in any folder.
    2. change qwtconfig.pri (almost like you did):
    QWT_INSTALL_PREFIX = D:/Dev/Qt/Qwt-$$QWT_VERSION-rc4
    3. from command line i execute
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake
    2. nmake
    3. nmake install
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    4. to use qwt's qmake custom feature, i created system environment variable called "QMAKEFEATURES = D:\Dev\Qt\Qwt-6.0.0-rc4"
    5. after that qmake and qt creator works fine with .pro files with line "CONFIG += qwt"

    Also, in your case there are some errors in .pro file.
    1. qwt.lib and qwtd.lib are release and debug version of same library that why line "LIBS += -lqwt -lqwtd" is error
    2. you make mistake in line "INCLUDEPATH += C:/Qt/qt/qwt-6.0.0/include". It must be "INCLUDEPATH += C:/Qt/qt/qwt-6.0.0-rc4/include"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    Hi, Tarhan:
    I also have problems with qwt installing.
    Could you tell me in details how you did at step 4 (4. to use qwt's qmake custom feature, i created system environment variable called "QMAKEFEATURES = D:\Dev\Qt\Qwt-6.0.0-rc4"
    ) ? And why?

    Thanks a lot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,313
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    I'm really tired of these postings, where someone has problems with something he has found in another posting, where someone ...

    Instead read the INSTALL instructions, where you find the following link: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/qmake-ad...ation-features


    Uwe

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    Sorry, Uwe, but I am also following the instructions of the Qwt package, and however I was able to compile it, it is not an easy task to overcome the problems (e.g. using Qwt in Designer). It is not straightforward, and requires too high competence for understanding these parameters, tricks, etc. Better documentation could eliminate all these problems. Though, thank you for your support!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,313
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Installing Qwt-6.0.0-rc4 on Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by falconium View Post
    Sorry, Uwe, but I am also following the instructions of the Qwt package, ...
    From your other posting it is obvious, that you are trying to build Qwt with the Creator. Sorry, but this is absolutely not following the instructions !

    Qwt comes with a project files with default settings, that should be usable for common situations for your platform. The Qt creator overrules some of these settings from the command line, what might lead to a misconfiguration if you don't know what you are doing. Second you have to add "make install" as additional build step in the Creator. If you don't do this you don't have a proper installation.

    You can use the Creator for building Qwt if you want to, but it offers absolutely no advantage and you have to solve problems ( no big ones, if you know your tool ) you wouldn't have without it.

    It is not straightforward, and requires too high competence for understanding these parameters, tricks, etc.
    Installing and using Qwt is straightforward and being able to read an INSTALL file + doing what you are told to doesn't count as "high competence". The first step is to build and install Qwt, the second step is to configure your project environment to use an installed version of Qwt.

    For the first step there is absolutely nothing to document beside:
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake
    2. make
    3. make install
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    For the second step you need to read some Qt docs:

    1) Tell qmake how to find the Qwt features file: see http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/qmake-ad...ation-features

    2) You have to tell the designer or creator, where to find the Qwt designer plugin: see: http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/deployment-plugins.html

    3) You need to help your program loader to find the Qwt library ( for loading your application, the designer/creator or any other executable using the Qwt library ). How to do it depends on the operating system ( on Windows it might be setting the PATH variable ).

    1 and 2 are requirements of Qt and documented there. All required links can be found in the Qwt INSTALL file. 3 belongs to the basics every developer simply has to have.

    Better documentation could eliminate all these problems.
    Documentation can always be better, but in your case you didn't even read carefully what is there.

    Uwe

  8. The following 4 users say thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    ahmed ali (20th March 2012), devyogi (15th July 2011), digog (11th July 2011), falconium (28th April 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. Installing QextSerialPort on windows
    By gawauter in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th December 2011, 05:22
  2. error installing qt-mobility with qt 4.7 on Windows 7
    By kaycee1 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th September 2010, 18:22
  3. Installing QT in windows with mysql drivers
    By roncriss in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th November 2009, 03:45
  4. Installing Qt commercial under Windows XP x64
    By adonel in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th April 2008, 23:10
  5. installing Qt for Windows in XP
    By anaskareem in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th February 2006, 14:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.