Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Different behaviour on different distributions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Unhappy Different behaviour on different distributions

    Hi all,

    Qt is platform independent - isn't it? Well, currently I'm testing my software on various Linux distributions, and I can watch different behaviour on them.

    On my development notebook with Gentoo Linux everything is fine. On my workstation with the same distributions and software versions, a pixmap drawn on the application's menubar is not shown:

    http://www.kumula.org/Pixmap-on-Menubar-Error.png
    (left side: how it should be, right side: icon isn't shown)
    (here my workstation's Xinerama mode could be the reason, but no... that would be crazy )

    Also I tested the software on SUSE 10. There is also no pixmap drawn on the menubar (maybe because SUSE is running in VMware? ), and additionally the text in QMessageBoxes isn't displayed correctly. Instead of
    Line 1
    Line 2
    the text is shown as
    Line 1<br>Line 2
    so the HTML tags are visible!

    I really don't know if Xinerama or VMware could be a reason for this behaviour, but of course, they shouldn't be. Maybe it's a PyQt issue. Does anyone have an idea, why these errors occur? How can I optimize my code to be *really* platform-indepent?

    Sincere thanks,
    Juergen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Minsk, Brest, Belarus
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Red face Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    I don't know why, but maybe application couldn't find the icon path?

    I have Slackware 10 (Home), Debian Sarge 3.1 (notebook), Windows XP (Home), Windows 2003 Server (notebook) and in all systems my applications look ok.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    Do you have the same version of PyQt on all systems?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    On the 2 Gentoo boxes (notebook and workstation) there are exactly the same software versions installed:
    PyQt-3.15.1
    qt-3.3.5
    On the SUSE VM I don't know exactly, I couldn't find "PyQt", but I guess "python-qt" is the same... Here is version 3.5.0-16 installed...

    The wrong icon path shouldn't be the reason, because the application converts the path to a full path (starting with "/") at runtime, and all the other icons are found and very well displayed. The error occurs only with the pixmap on the menubar...
    Last edited by Kumula; 4th February 2006 at 18:10.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    The error occurs only with the pixmap on the menubar...
    What is the format of that icon? Do you have proper image format plugins installed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    What are the "proper image format plugins"?
    Where can I see them?

    The icon is in PNG format, the same as the icons used by the toolbar.
    But on the toolbar the icons are shown, but not on the menubar...

    Anyway... what could be the reason of the "HTML-tags-are-not-interpreted" failure?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kumula
    What are the "proper image format plugins"?
    Where can I see them?
    Somewhere around $QTDIR/plugins/imageformats, but you aren't missing any plugins if all of the icons are in of the same format.

    Anyway... what could be the reason of the "HTML-tags-are-not-interpreted" failure?
    I would suspect PyQt. Does it output anything to the console when you run your application?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    The "imageplugins" folder is in my Qt4 directory, but I'm using PyQt (which still uses Qt3).
    When PyQt4 is released, I'll port my apps to Qt4, maybe the problems are solved then automatically.
    But even from the Qt3 point of view, the behaviour is very strange...

    Also, there aren't any messages, when I start the apps from the console...

    Tomorrow I'll post an alpha release of my software here,
    so all QtCentre users can make their own impression...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kumula
    The "imageplugins" folder is in my Qt4 directory, but I'm using PyQt (which still uses Qt3).
    Qt3 has such plugins also.

    Tomorrow I'll post an alpha release of my software here,
    so all QtCentre users can make their own impression...
    Could you tell us a bit more about your project?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    Qt3 has such plugins also.
    Okay, but I couldn't find them. But both Gentoo boxes have nearly the same USE flags (except of some workstation-related stuff like "cups" or "xinerama"), so the support for various image format should be there. Additionally, I can't believe that a binary distribution like SUSE has Qt's PNG support missing... (SUSE has *everything* )

    Could you tell us a bit more about your project?
    Well, it's a small business suite to be enhanced to fit the needs of various branches. You can visit http://www.kumula.org to find out more, and if you think "Why another business software?" please read http://www.kumula.org/docs/?title=Paradigm

    As promised, I post a development version here: http://www.kumula.org/kumula-2006.02alpha.tar.gz
    Extract it anywhere, and run "./Kumula/bin/configurator.py", because the Configurator program is the one and only which doesn't need a database. You should see the Kumula icon on the left side of the menubar, and the QMessageBoxes shouldn't have visible HTML tags...

    Thanks for any help!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Different behaviour on different distributions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kumula
    You should see the Kumula icon on the left side of the menubar, and the QMessageBoxes shouldn't have visible HTML tags...
    I can't see the icon, but message boxes are OK.

Similar Threads

  1. Disable default tab behaviour for a QGraphicsItem
    By nmather in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th December 2017, 10:30
  2. Inconsistent behaviour of QVBoxLayout
    By spraff in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th November 2008, 18:36
  3. snap to grid behaviour
    By dreamer in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd May 2008, 08:35
  4. QAbstractItemView selection behaviour issue
    By Caius Aérobus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st May 2007, 16:33
  5. [Qt 4.1] Strange behaviour with QTableView
    By fane in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd January 2006, 06:17

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.